About Us  :  Online Enquiry


The Sayyid Dynasty (1414 – 51)

The Sayyid Dynasty (1414 – 51)

The Sayeed Dynasty ruled for about 37 years. There were four rulers.

Neither politically nor culturally, the Sayeed dynasty made any worthwhile contribution to the medieval history of India.

Khizr Khan (1414-21):

  • Khizr Khan proclaimed independence in 1414 and assumed the title of Sultan. He called himself Raiyat-i-ala.
  • The first Sayyid ruler of Delhi was Khirz Khan (reigned 1414–21), who had been governor of the Punjab.
  • He and his three successors occupied themselves in raids to collect revenue, barely maintaining themselves against the Sharqī sultans to the east and the Khokars to the northwest.
  • After his accession to the throne, Khizr Khan appointed Malik-us-Sharq Tuhfa as his wazir and he was given the title of Taj-ul-Mulk and he remained in office until 1421.

Mubarak Shah (1421-34):

  • He was the son of Khizr Khan.
  • He was murdered by nobles led by Sarwarul Mulk.
  • He was the second monarch of the Sayyid Dynasty which ruled the Delhi Sultanate. He succeeded his father,Khirz Khan to the throne.

Mohammed Shah (1434 – 45):

  • He was the nephew of Mubarak Shah.
  • He got Sarwarul Mulk murdered.
  • The ruler of Malwa attacked Delhi during his reign. However with the timely help of Bahlol Lodi, the governor of Lahore and Sirhind, the Sultan was able to face the challenge successfully.

Alauddin Alam Shah (1445 – 51):

  • He was the son of Mohammed Shah. He retired to estate at Badaun as he fell out with wazir Hamid Khan.
  • But Bahlul Lodhi captured Delhi in 1451 and founded the Lodhi dynasty.
  • According to some historians, he transferred his capital from Delhi to Badaun on account of the fear of Bahlol Lodi, governor of Lahore and Sir-hind.  The Sayyid Dynasty (1414 – 51)


Medieval History

Send this to a friend