About Us  :  Online Enquiry


National Disaster Management Authority

National Disaster Management Authority


  • The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) is the apex statutory body for disaster management in India.
  • The NDMA was formally constituted on 27th September 2006, in accordance with the Disaster Management Act, 2005 with Prime Minister as its Chairperson and nine other members, and one such member to be designated as Vice-Chairperson.
  • Mandate: Its primary purpose is to coordinate response to natural or man-made disasters and for capacity-building in disaster resiliency and crisis response. It is also the apex body to lay down policies, plans and guidelines for Disaster Management to ensure timely and effective response to disasters.
  • Vision: To build a safer and disaster resilient India by a holistic, proactive, technology driven and sustainable development strategy that involves all stakeholders and fosters a culture of prevention, preparedness and mitigation.

Evolution of NDMA

  • In recognition of the importance of Disaster Management as a national priority, the Government of India set up a High-Powered Committee (HPC) in August 1999 and a National Committee after the Gujarat earthquake (2001), for making recommendations on the preparation of Disaster Management plans and suggesting effective mitigation mechanisms.
  • The Tenth Five-Year Plan document also had, for the first time, a detailed chapter on Disaster Management. The Twelfth Finance Commission was also mandated to review the financial arrangements for Disaster Management.
  • On 23 December 2005, the Government of India enacted the Disaster Management Act, which envisaged the creation of NDMA, headed by the Prime Minister, and State Disaster Management Authorities (SDMAs) headed by respective Chief Ministers, to spearhead and implement a holistic and integrated approach to Disaster Management in India.

Functions of National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA)

The National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) was established to follow the functions mentioned below:

  • Implementing policies related to Disaster Management.
  • Approving various plans like:
    • National Plans
    • Plans by different Ministries & Departments of the Indian Government
    • Other plans related to the National Plan.
  • Laying down guidelines for State Government Authorities in accordance with the State Plan.
  • Laying down guidelines for different Government Authorities in order to integrate the preventive measures for the Disaster or attenuation of its effect in their development plans & projects.
  • Coordinating with the workforce and implementing the policies/plans necessary.
  • Recommending the provision of funds necessary for mitigation.
  • Depending on the Central Government, providing aid and support to the countries in need.
  • Laying down guidelines and broad policies for the functioning of the NIDM (National Institute of Disaster Management).

Organisational Structure  

  • The Prime Minister is the ex-officio chairperson of the NDMA.
  • The Cabinet Minister is the Vice-Chairman.
  • The NDMA Secretariat, headed by a Secretary, is responsible for providing secretarial support and continuity.
  • Along with this, NDMA has 8 Ministers of State as its Members.


Indian Polity

Send this to a friend