About Us  :  Online Enquiry




  • The IGMDP was an Indian Ministry of Defence program between 1983 and 2007 for the development of a comprehensive range of missiles, including the intermediate range Agni missile, and short range missiles such as the Prithvi ballistic missile, Akash missile, Trishul missile and Anti tank Nag Missile.
  • The program was managed by Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO) in partnership with other Indian government labs and research centres.
  • A committee headed by the then DRDO chief Dr. Raja Ramanna conceived this highly ambitious and challenging programme. The programme was conceived as a comprehensive missile development programme (MDP) consisting of five core missile systems having different strategic roles and capabilities.
  • India desired comprehensive and integrated capabilities in missile systems because while on one hand, they have the advantage of delivering higher pay load beyond the range of combat aircraft, on the other hand, they are one-way devices and there are no dangers associated as with loss of a combat aircraft and its crew.
  • Moreover, with their high speed their interception is also more difficult than combat aircrafts.
  • The last major missile developed under the program was Agni III intermediate-range ballistic missile which was successfully tested on 9 July 2007.
  • On 8 January 2008, the DRDO announced that it win be closing the IGMDP program formally since most of the missiles in the program have been developed and inducted into Indian armed forces. India on Tuesday 07 may, 2008 announced the closing of the strategic integrated guided missile development programme.
  • The DRDO has independently continued further development work on Nag and Surya missile. In addition, the DRDO is also developing a laser-based weapon system as part of its ballistic missile defence program to intercept and destroy missiles soon after they are launched towards the country.

The main aim of the Integrated Guided Missile Development Program was to design, develop, and operationalise missiles in five different categories simultaneously, namely

  1. Short-range surface-to-surface missile – Prithvi
  2. Intermediate-range surface-to-surface missile – Agni
  3. Short-range surface-to-air missile – Trishul
  4. Medium-range surface-to-air missile – Akash                                                  INTEGRATED GUIDED MISSILE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM (IGMDP)
  5. Third-generation anti-tank guided missile – Nag

There were a number of failures and successes, which led to an expansion of the program in the 1990s, to develop the long range Agni missile, a ballistic missile (Sagarika), which would be the naval version of the Prithvi, and an intercontinental-ballistic-missile (Surya) with a range of 8,000-12,000 km.                                 INTEGRATED GUIDED MISSILE DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM (IGMDP).




Send this to a friend