Man Booker Prize


  • G.S. Paper 2


Why in news?

  • The winner of the man Booker prize has recently been announced for the year 2018.


Man Booker Prize:

  • The Man Booker Prize for Fiction(formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize and commonly known simply as the Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK.
  • The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.
  • From its inception, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African (and later Zimbabwean) citizens were eligible to receive the prize.
  • But in 2014 this eligibility was widened to any English-language novel.
  • A high-profile literary award in British culture, the Booker Prize is greeted with great anticipation and fanfare.
  • It is also a mark of distinction for authors to be selected for inclusion in the shortlist or even to be nominated for the “longlist”.


Man Booker Prize 2018 winner:

  • Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk has won the prestigious Man Booker International Prize for fiction this year.
  • She has won it for her book known as “Flights,” a novel that charts multiple journeys in time, space and human anatomy.
  • “Flights” beat five other finalists, including Iraqi writer Ahmed Saadawi’s horror story “Frankenstein in Baghdad” and South Korean author Han Kang’s meditative novel “The White Book.”
  • Tokarczuk’s novel combines tales of modern-day travel with the story of a 17th century anatomist who dissected his own amputated leg and the journey of composer Frederic Chopin’s heart from Paris to Warsaw after his death.

News by date

Browse by month

IAS buzz monthly pdf