About Us  :  Online Enquiry


Gandhi Peace Prize for 2020

Gandhi Peace Prize for 2020

Why in news?

  • After India conferred the Gandhi Peace Prize for 2020 on Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (Father of Nation in Bangladesh.)
  • Bangladesh felt an honour for the Father of the Nation to be bestowed with the prestigious award.

Gandhi Peace Prize 2020

  • The jury for the prize consisted
  • PM Modi
  • two ex-officio members
  • leader of the single largest opposition party in Lok Sabha
  • Chief Justice of India.
  • The award carries also carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a plaque, and a citation.
  • The jury of the prize met on March 19, 2021
  • Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman was finalized as the recipient of the prize for 2020 unanimously

About Gandhi Peace Prize

The Gandhi Peace Prize is awarded to one person/organization annually.

  • The jury for the prize consists:
  • Prime Minister of India
  • two ex-officio members
  • leader of the single largest opposition party in Lok Sabha
  • Chief Justice of India.
  • The term of the jury is three years.
  • Ex-officio members of the jury (PM, CJI & LoOp) are permanent members
  • Eminent members retire. Reappointment is applicable.
  • PM is the head of the jury. In his absence, remaining members of the jury decide the presiding officer.
  • A majority of the jury is needed to make a decision.
  • NO protests can be made against the jury’s decisions.


  • This annual award will be given to individuals, associations, institutions or organizations who have worked selflessly for peace, non-violence and amelioration of human sufferings particular of the less-privileged section of society contributing towards social justice and harmony.
  • The Award is open to all persons regardless of nationality, race, language, caste, creed or gender.
  • Normally, contributions made during ten years immediately preceding the nomination are considered.
  • Older contributions may also be considered if their significance has not become apparent recently.

Recipients of 2020 and 2019:

  • Sheikh Mujibur Rahman- (2020)
    • He is called as Bangabandhu, Jatir Janak or Jatir Pita
    • He was born on 17th March 1920 and breathed his last on 12th August 1975 in Dhaka.
    • He was the first Prime Minister of Bangladesh (1972–75) and later became the President of the country in 1975.
    • He was the co-founder of Awami league in 1949.
    • He is known for his crucial role in advocating political autonomy for East Pakistan.
    • His contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violent and other Gandhian methods have made him the winner of Gandhi Peace Prize 2020.
  • Qaboos bin Said Al Said:
    • He was the longest-serving arabic ruler. He ruled Oman for almost half a century.
    • He emerged as a Sultan at an age of 29, after overthrowing his father in a bloodless coup.
    • He was a visionary whose twin policy of moderation and mediation in addressing international issues won him praise and respect across the globe.
    • He was also responsible for the ties between Oman and India.

Past awardees

  • Rama Krishna Mission was given the Gandhi Peace Prize in 1998.
  • Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan was given the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2002.
  • Indian Space Research Organisation was given the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2014.
  • Vivekananda Kendra was announced as the Gandhi Peace Prize Awardee 2015.
  • EkalAbhiyan Trust was presented with the Gandhi Peace Prize in 2017.


Mussoorie Times

Send this to a friend