About Us  :  Online Enquiry


Formation Of Malerkotla : 23rd District Of Punjab

Formation Of Malerkotla : 23rd District Of Punjab

Why in news?

  • Recently, the Punjab government has announced the formation of Malerkotla as the 23rd district of the state.
  • Section 5 of the Punjab Land Revenue Act, 1887 says the “State government may, by notification, vary the limits and alter the numbers of tehsils, districts and divisions into which the State is divided.”
  • Chief Minister of Punjab announced a fund of Rs 6 crore under the Urban Environment Improvement Programme (UEIP) for the development of the district.

History of Malerkotla

  • The Malerkoltla is former princley state and only Muslim-dominated town of Punjab.
  • Malerkotla was established by Sheikh Sadruddin-i-Jahan from Afghanistan in 1454 and later the State of Malerkotla was established in 1657 by Bayazid Khan.
  • After the decline of the Mughal empire, Malerkotla’s rulers exercised greater independence and at the time of the invasion of India by Ahmad Shah Abdali from Afghanistan, they aligned with him.
  • It was later merged with the neighbouring princely states to create Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU).            Formation Of Malerkotla : 23rd District Of Punjab
  • In 1947, it became the only Muslim majority Sikh state in East Punjab
  • During the 1956 reorganisation the territories of the State of Malerkotla became part of Punjab.
  • Malerkotla continued under the British protection and the alliance with the neighbouring Sikh states till 1947 when it became the only Muslim majority Sikh state in East Punjab.
  • After the dissolution of the princely states in 1948, Malerkotla joined the new state of PEPSU or Patiala and East Punjab States Union (PEPSU). PEPSU itself was dissolved in 1954 and Malerkotla became a part of Punjab.

Malerkotla and the Sikh community

  • ‘Haa Da Naara’ Episode (1705): Malerkotla Nawab Sher Mohammad Khan had raised his voice (‘Haa Da Naara’) against brutal execution of Chote Sahibzade (youngest sons of Guru Gobind Singh — Zorawar Singh (9) and Fateh Singh (6) – by Nawab of Sirhind, Wazir Khan in 1705. Gurdwara Haa da Naara Sahib was built in Malerkotla to commemorate the voice raised by Sher Mohammad Khan.
  • Wadda Ghallugara (1762): The Nawab Bhikam Shah fought on the side of Abdali’s forces in a battle against the Sikhs in 1762. The battle is known as ‘Wadda Ghallugara’ or the Great Holocaust where tens and thousands of Sikhs were killed.                Formation Of Malerkotla : 23rd District Of Punjab
  • Treaty of Friendship (1769): In 1769, a treaty of friendship was signed with Raja Amar Singh of Patiala by the then Nawab of Malerkotla.
  • Namdhari Massacre (1872): The British administration of Malerkotla (Punjab) was attacked by the contingents of Namdharis (a sect of Sikhs) under the leadership of Hira Singh and lehna Singh, on 15th January, 1872.

Creation Of New Districts

  • The power to create new districts or alter or abolish existing districts rests with the State governments.
  • This can either be done through an executive order or by passing a law in the State Assembly.
  • Many States prefer the executive route by simply issuing a notification in the official gazette.

Role Of Central Government

  • The Centre has no role to play in the alteration of districts or creation of new ones. States are free to decide.
  • The Home Ministry comes into the picture when a State wants to change the name of a district or a railway station.                    Formation Of Malerkotla : 23rd District Of Punjab
  • The State government’s request is sent to other departments and agencies such as the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Intelligence Bureau, Department of Posts, Geographical Survey of India Sciences and the Railway Ministry seeking clearance. A no-objection certificate may be issued after examining their replies.

Number of Districts in India

  • According to the 2011 Census, there were 593 districts in the country.
  • Between 2001-2011, as many as 46 districts were created by States.
  • Though the 2021 Census is yet to happen, currently there are 718 districts in the country.
  • The surge in number is also due to bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh into A.P and Telangana in 2014.



Mussoorie Times

Send this to a friend