About Us  :  Online Enquiry


Man Booker Prize


  • G.S. Paper 2


Why in news?

  • The winner of the man Booker prize has recently been announced for the year 2018.


Man Booker Prize:

  • The Man Booker Prize for Fiction(formerly known as the Booker–McConnell Prize and commonly known simply as the Booker Prize) is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK.
  • The winner of the Man Booker Prize is generally assured international renown and success therefore, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.
  • From its inception, only novels written by Commonwealth, Irish, and South African (and later Zimbabwean) citizens were eligible to receive the prize.
  • But in 2014 this eligibility was widened to any English-language novel.
  • A high-profile literary award in British culture, the Booker Prize is greeted with great anticipation and fanfare.
  • It is also a mark of distinction for authors to be selected for inclusion in the shortlist or even to be nominated for the “longlist”.


Man Booker Prize 2018 winner:

  • Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk has won the prestigious Man Booker International Prize for fiction this year.
  • She has won it for her book known as “Flights,” a novel that charts multiple journeys in time, space and human anatomy.
  • “Flights” beat five other finalists, including Iraqi writer Ahmed Saadawi’s horror story “Frankenstein in Baghdad” and South Korean author Han Kang’s meditative novel “The White Book.”
  • Tokarczuk’s novel combines tales of modern-day travel with the story of a 17th century anatomist who dissected his own amputated leg and the journey of composer Frederic Chopin’s heart from Paris to Warsaw after his death.


Essential Diagnostics List (EDL)



  • G.S. Paper 2,3

Why in news?

  • The World Health Organization (WHO) has published its first essential diagnostics list (EDL).


Essential diagnostics list (EDL):

  • The World Health Organization (WHO) has published its first essential diagnostics list (EDL).
  • It is a catalogue of the 113 most critical categories of diagnostics for common and priority diseases.
  • Of the 113 types of diagnostics selected for the list, 58 are intended to diagnose a wide range of common conditions, both communicable and noncommunicable.
  • The remaining 55 diagnostics are intended to diagnose or monitor priority diseases.
  • The list itself provides information about each test category, including the tests’ intended use, format, and the appropriate setting the test is suited for.
  • The list also includes information on applicable WHO guidelines for the various types of diagnostics and notes whether there are WHO prequalified products available within a particular category.
  • It will serve as a tool that can be useful to all countries, to test and treat better and also to use health funds more efficiently by concentrating on the truly essential tests.
  • The list is similar to WHO’s essential medicines list (EML).
  • EML has been updated every two years since 1977 and is used as a reference by health authorities around the world to guide procurement decisions for critical drugs.
  • WHO will update the EDL on an annual basis.
  • Updation will be based on input from its expert group and will expand significantly.
  • It will do so with the inclusion of diagnostics for other focus areas, such as:
    • antimicrobial resistance
    • emerging pathogens
    • neglected tropical diseases

Send this to a friend